What An Opportunity

Homeless, broke, and anything less

In Culture, Life on April 12, 2012 at 4:16 pm

Brilliant lights surround me, emphatic noises boom.

We turn our shoulders and shuffle, trying to create our own room.

Faces pass hastily, 1, 2, 3.

I don’t don’t care, none of them are me.

I’m content.

Shopping bags in one hand, my girl in the other.

Jointly follows a close friend, to her left, my brother.

Full on friendship and dollar slices,

Tonight, we thrive. no compromises, no sacrifices.

I smile and wish life could always be so sound,

But I know it’s not, and I’m reminded as I glance toward the ground.

“Homeless, broke, and anything less.”

I read the sign of a girl who sits, her face emanating distress.

She can’t be more than a couple years older than I,

So how’d she end up here? And why, God, why?

I don’t know why it struck me, but her handwriting was much neater than mine.

Yet tonight she’ll shiver while I discuss theories over white wine.

It’s easy to dismiss her as her problem’s own source.

Probably spent all her money on drugs, probably too lazy to join the workforce.

But who’s to say I am better than she?

In a couple years, that sign could belong to me.

So what am I to do? I want to help her, but how?

I’m out of money, and she’s a mile back by now.

She’ll never know, but I’m just going to thank her in this note.

Her sign, her life. She made me think, and it’s for her that I wrote.

I quickly remember life is more than consumerism and the advancement of my name.

Life isn’t grandeur for everyone, and the individual isn’t always to blame.

Just thank the Lord every day that He’s chosen you to be so blessed,

Because with a little twist of fate, any of us could be

Homeless, broke, and anything less.

  1. A few years ago I worked at a residential hotel in a seedy part of the city when I got to know some of the nurses, professors, executives who were then living in one nasty little room, in one nasty little part of town. People end up where they are for all kinds of reasons and any one of them could be me at any point. Great work.

  2. Very nice. You’ve done your job exceedingly well by painting this picture.

Leave a Reply

